skiesoverbishkek

About the skies over Bishkek. And life on the ground.

The Day Before Thanksgiving

Leave a comment

Today, at school, some of my students came to see me in my office. Not to discuss paper assignments, topic sentences, thesis statements, dangling modifiers, and grades. Instead, they came with a present: a pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. And with the concern that their German professor, who had lived for the past fifteen years in the U.S., would miss being stateside and enjoying one of the staple foods of this holiday. And I almost did. Until, of course, my students reminded me this afternoon that this holiday that I have come to love over the years can feel as special 6,500 miles away from the U.S.

And it can taste as deliciously. Needless to say that I could not wait until tomorrow’s Thanksgiving dinner to taste the pumpkin pie. It is the best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted: not only because of the perfect crust, the consistency of the thin but rich layer of pumpkin filling, and the right amount and mixture of cinnamon and other spices. It is perfect.

Pumpkin pies are not that easy to find in Bishkek. And thoughtful students like this are not easy to find anywhere in the world.

Greetings from Kyrgyzstan, on the day before Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

